Interview: Rob Janoff, designer of the Apple logo

A little bit about me first.  I am a burgeoning designer, completely self taught.  I have my BA (Honours) and MA in history, so coming into visual design was a pleasant departure from my norm.  (My MA thesis was on the history of history in Canada.  If you like, you can read it here.  And if you do read it, please let me know what you think, I’d love to hear your comments)  I’ve always had an eye for what works and what doesn’t, so taking up design has been a good fit for me.

Because I don’t really have any formal training in design, I think it is helpful to read about successful designers and what makes them tick.  So, here he is, Rob Janoff, designer of the Apple logo, one of the most iconic (and successful) logos of the past fifty years.

I think its nice that he rates innate ability over formal training.  But I certainly have a vested interest, don’t I?

Leave a Reply

