small things: the crossing guard

Every morning I get up, get the kids ready, and drive my son to school.  Some days we are on time, a lot of the time we are just-that-bit-too-late-dangit.

Every morning I drive past one of the local schools, and every morning the crossing guard is there, helping kids and their parents cross the street safely.  And every morning she has a smile on her face, waving to the people in the cars as they pass by.

I used to just pretend not to notice her, mostly because I was embarrassed for being late all the time.  Then I figured that wasn’t fair for her, so I started waving back and making eye contact.  Although you may not guess it, sometimes it is difficult for me to reach out to strangers.  I feel tentative and unsure – I really want people to like me and I am disappointed when they don’t.  Smiling at a complete stranger on the street was a stretch for me, but I am so glad that I did.

Now, every morning, this crossing guard smiles at me and I smile back.  And the mornings when I am most grateful for her smiles are the mornings when I am running late, frustrated with the kids, and generally unkempt.  Because I know that she will be there to wave me on my way, regardless of my own personal circumstances.

So Madame Crossing Guard, thank you.  Please keep up the exceptional work.

Leave a Reply

