decluttering: window sills

Tsh Oxenreider, the lady behind the website Simple Mom, has written a book called Organized Simplicity which I blogged about a few days ago.  The last half of the book details a total house declutter over a period of ten days.  However, Tsh also acknowledges that not everyone has the time to devote ten full days to decluttering your house, and I am one of those people.

There is a quote at the end of the book from writer Elisabeth Elliot which I love: “When you don’t know what to do next, just do the thing in front of you”

And in the spirit of doing what is in front of you, this is what I look at every time I do the dishes.

And this is the window beside my desk in the kitchen.

Note the CD’s on the windowsill.  Our stereo is on the other side of the house.  Definitely not functional.  So even though we were packing to go away for the weekend, I seized the day and decluttered away.  And here are the results for the sink window:

I put the paintbrushes in a clear Mason jar, “replanted” the green onions (more on that later), and moved the scrubby stuff to above the left hand sink.  Got rid of the elderly bunny grass (an old class project of Benno’s), ditched the coasters that I never use, and moved the Christmas Cactus over here:

My apologies for the dark photo – I was just using my iPhone and I’ve not starting using Instagram yet, which I plan on doing.  Not much of a change here, but I did move the CDs over to our stereo in the living room and put the cactus in a MUCH prettier pot that we had sitting in our garage.

I know it is an improvement because Darren remarked on how much nicer it is to look out the kitchen window. Now I look out of that window and sigh with delight instead of cringing.

One step at a time, one step at a time…

Leave a Reply

