editing my life: rewards programs

Part of the reason I started this blog was to take a look at what we have in our lives, whether those things add to our happiness, and whether they are worth our time.

This morning I looked in the garbage and saw a Pampers bag. Pampers has a rewards program where you amass points by entering the code you find on the packaging of their products. That code gives you a certain amount of points. You then use those points to purchase things from their store or to enter contests for monthly draws, or you can also donate them to charity. It is easy to get caught up in the possibilities of something like this, until you realize that you you would have to buy thousands of dollars worth of diapers in order to qualify for some of the bigger items.

Nevertheless, I’ve been saving the codes (or the packaging) and entering them into my account on a semi-regular basis.  I haven’t gotten anything yet, they are just sitting there, waiting for me to do something with them.

This morning when I saw the packaging in the garbage I knew that I hadn’t yet entered the code from that bag. I also know that it has been sitting around my house for a week, moving from place to place, vainly trying to find a temporary home while I get my act in gear. I think it even may have a brother or a sister sitting in John’s closet.  In short, it has been clutter of my own making, my own willingness to get sucked in to a marketing ploy by a specific brand.

Well, no longer.  Today I will be logging on to Pampers, donating my point, then logging off for good.  It’s not worth the mental effort and the physical clutter.

Now, not all rewards programs are bad.  I’m very grateful for my Save-On-Foods card which regularly saves me a decent chunk of money, and I’ve been able to cash those in for Westjet coupons, which has been great.  But I’m sure there are more things like the Pampers program that are sapping my time and attention. I just need to bite the bullet and get rid of them.

 

Leave a Reply

