Confessions and Cookies for Lent

I am addicted to chocolate chips. So every Lent I give up chocolate. It is hard, especially when it is time to prep dinner and the kids are fussy and I am looking for that sugar rush to get me through the next hour or so. I end up eating a lot of chocolate chips, many more than are good for me.

This year has been easier than the previous years, and I’m not sure why, but I’m not arguing. What with avoiding chocolate and doing the Fab Ab February Challenge last month, I think I have managed to drop a few pounds, which is nice. I also have a two-pack, which I am proud of. Now I just have to keep up the push-ups, stomach crunches, and planks so that all my hard work doesn’t go to waste (or waist…get it? Sigh…)

Nevertheless, all of this virtue does not stop me from wanting to snack on things, and in the interests of not inventing something even worse to snack on (which I am quite capable of doing), I turned to my newly discovered/created/adapted cookie recipe.

I adapted this recipe from Olympic Oatmeal cookies, which they apparently served to the athletes in Olympic Village. The original recipe is exceptionally good, especially when you add mini M&Ms, but here is my variation,

Cream 1 cup butter
3/4 cup brown sugar

Add in 1 egg
1 1/4 tsp vanilla

Mix in 1 cup flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

Mix in 2 1/2 cup oatmeal (I used organic quick oats)

Add 1 cup craisins
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
1/4 cup ground flax

20120315-070448.jpg

Form into one-inch round balls and flatten slightly (this is a very robust dough and you will need to do this with your hands). Bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes or until done.

This recipe is nut-free, which is great for lunches. There are at least three kids in Benno’s class with nut allergies, and this cookie is safe for all of them. It is nice to be able to put something fairly healthy in Ben’s lunch and not have to worry that he will cause someone else to break out in an allergic reaction.

Let me know if you try them…

PS. I originally named these things “Lenten Snack Cookies” however, when I read this post to Darren we proceeded to get into a rather heated debate about the name of the cookies. I would like to note that, while Darren certainly has a point that naming these “Lenten cookies” contradicts the whole idea of Lent (you know, prayer, fasting, and almsgiving), I have halved the sugar in the original recipe and, minus the M&Ms, the sugar is really the only thing that could be construed as bad for you. I came up with the name “Seedy Bars” but that may be a bit too sketchy. What do you think they should be called?

One thought on “Confessions and Cookies for Lent

Leave a Reply

