Documentary: The Shroud of Turin

It is Holy Week, the week that Christians everywhere walk with Christ through His passion, death, and resurrection. Sunday was Palm Sunday, where we remember His triumphant entry into Jerusalem (as well as His eventual betrayal by Judas and the subsequent events). On Holy Thursday we celebrate the institution of the Eucharist, or, the Last Supper. Good Friday is when Jesus died on the cross. Holy Saturday is a day of waiting, and on Easter Sunday we celebrate the triumphant resurrection of Our Lord.

I had some work to do on Tuesday evening, and I wanted something appropriate to watch. Somehow it just didn’t seem right to watch a romantic comedy during Holy Week. However, I also did not want to watch a diatribe against Mel Gibson and the Passion of the Christ, which I will hopefully be posting tomorrow (the movie, not the diatribe). Nor did I want to watch an analysis of the current conflicts in Jerusalem.

Instead, I found a fascinating documentary on the Shroud of Turin. It gives a brief history of the Shroud, talks about the different scientific tests that have been applied over the years, and eventually shows a rendition of the Face of Christ that is truly remarkable. What I found really moving, though, was the depth of emotion that was so clearly felt by the graphic artist who worked to created this three dimensional image of Christ. It took him over six months to create this remarkable image, six months to spend contemplating the features, outlines, and blood of a man who died a horrible death. He tears up when he speaks about the wounds that Jesus suffered at the hands of his executioners. He is visibly moved to be holding a plaster cast of Jesus’ head in his hands.

It was the plaster cast that resonated with me the most.

3 thoughts on “Documentary: The Shroud of Turin

  1. Pingback: international: SALVATION – GOD’S PASSION/ SALVEZZA – PASSIONE DI DIO | Miserere mei, Deus.

  2. harley davidson stickers

    Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints for beginner blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

    Reply
    1. Jennifer Post author

      Thanks, I’m glad you enjoy the blog! As you can see, I’ve only been blogging for a couple of months, but I think the best advice I ever heard was to blog about what you love and be yourself. I think people can tell when you aren’t really interested in what you are saying, or when you aren’t passionate about what you are talking about. And if you aren’t excited about what you are saying, no one else will be either. Young House Love has some good advice too, check them out. I hope that helps!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

