Holy Week

This evening our family will be heading off to Mass to celebrate Holy Thursday, the beginning of Easter Triduum. I will be “off the air” for the Easter holidays, but there are a few things that our family will do to celebrate.

1. Liturgy

As practicing Catholics, we will be taking part in the all the liturgies of this season: Holy Thursday (the institution of the Lord’s Supper), Good Friday (3:00 liturgy that recalls the death of Christ), Easter Vigil (Saturday night liturgy that goes through salvation history and where new Catholics receive the sacraments of baptism, confirmation, and the Eucharist and are welcomed into the Church), and Easter Sunday mass.

2. Family

In addition to spending time with the kids, we will be having brunch with my mother-in-law and my nephew and heading out to Chilliwack to see my extended family.

3. Food!

We will be making bread (probably pecan cranberry no-knead bread), food to bring to family dinner, brunch for my mother-in-law, and resurrection rolls! Not to mention all the Easter candy, which I am really excited about as I gave up chocolate for Lent.

4. Movies

There are two movies that are definitely on the play list this weekend.  For the kids, The Miracle Maker, the story of Christ as told by a team of Russian claymation animators working with the BBC.  It is a beautiful and engaging film and appropriate for all ages. I highly recommend watching this over the weekend.

The other is for Darren and I only: The Passion of the Christ.  Darren and I first saw The Passion in Saskatoon, where we were living when it came out.  We went to see it on Holy Saturday afternoon.  The film was powerful, the scourging unbearable, the theatre silent as the film ended.  Darren and I went home in silence and crawled into bed for an hour, depleted.

But Holy Saturday ended up being the perfect day to see the movie, because that evening we went to Easter Vigil, and it was so wonderful to follow the starkness and horror and betrayal of Christ in the movie with the light and joy of the Easter celebration.  I haven’t seen the movie since then.  I’m actually still deciding whether or not I want to watch the Gibson version or find something else.  I’ll let you know.

If you are Christian, I hope that you have a very blessed and holy Easter season.  And if you are simply a person of good will, I hope that you are able to spend time with your family and friends, connecting with the people whom you truly love.

The Miraclemaker:

The Passion of the Christ:

Leave a Reply

