Most beautiful thing: Holy Week and the Long Weekend

I think it goes without saying that Easter Sunday and the lead up of last week is the most beautiful thing, both temporally and eternally! But here is a short list of the things that I enjoyed:

1. The contrast between the solemnity of Good Friday and the joy of Easter Sunday. Because I have had to stay home with the kids for the past couple of years, Darren has gone to the Easter Vigil alone. Easter generally starts for me when he gets home from Mass. This year we celebrated with Pernod and Glenfiddich. Just a small amount, as I am a lightweight.

2. Hanging out with family. Of course I forgot to take pictures, but we had Darren’s mom over for brunch on Sunday (English muffins, sausages, eggs, crepes with strawberries and whipped cream, pineapple, cheese and pepperoni), which was really nice. We then went to my parents’ house for dinner (ham, scalloped potatoes, sweet potato casserole, bean salad, broccoli salad, blueberry gelatin salad, rolls, and probably something else I have forgotten) and stayed overnight.

Incidentally, how can you tell that I really like food? I used to read books like Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Farmer Boy and other classics and get absolutely giddy with joy over the descriptions of food. Seriously, you should see what they used to have for breakfast back in the day. Stacks of pancakes, back bacon, fresh milk, apple pie, the list goes on. Sigh. Right, back to the list.

3. Easter egg hunts. We had one at our house and one at my Mom and Dad’s place. If I do say so myself, I am a champion egg hider. It took the kids (with a little help from Darren) a good ten minutes to find all 29 eggs. Well, actually 28 eggs. There is a silver and green mini egg still in hiding. I couldn’t even find the last one. I’m so good I even trick myself. It’s probably the brain damage from three kids πŸ™‚

4. Slow Easter Monday, lots of leftovers, Vanilla Cake with Pineapple Cream Cheese Icing (from scratch! More on that later this week), John on the grass, and a walk with Darren amidst the darling buds of April. A good long weekend. Happy Easter!

20120409-235439.jpg

20120409-235510.jpg

20120409-235546.jpg

20120409-235611.jpg

20120409-235634.jpg

20120409-235701.jpg

20120409-235732.jpg

20120409-235754.jpg

Leave a Reply

