Most Beautiful Thing: my Mom

 

As you may have gathered, I have been a tad busy in recent weeks.  One big clue was the fact that I haven’t posted for over a week.  I have been involved with planning the auction fundraiser for my son’s school, which has meant a LOT of late nights and extremely crazy hours.

Thankfully, the auction was this past Saturday, so I am hoping that the pace of life will switch from “frantic” back to “rather busy.”  Right now John is napping and Cate is being entertained by the Berenstain Bears, so I think we are off to a good start.

This weekend was Mother’s Day.  I had a bunch of lovely little treats this weekend, including flowers, chocolate, and Frog Tape from Darren, who knows I’ve been hankering for this for a while.  We also need to paint our house, so it is a very functional present:)

Finally, when I came home on Saturday afternoon (after spending seven hours prepping for the auction) I found a “just because” gift from my sister-in-law, her husband, and her daughter.  Pink Grapefruit from The Body Shop – delightful!  It was such a nice little surprise that lifted my spirits and helped me to rejuvenate before heading out again to the auction for another seven hours of work.

I would also like to wish a very Happy Mothers Day to my Mom, who is a generous and loving force of nature!  This past weekend she just completed a course on home staging, and it sounds like she did extremely well (surprise, surprise)! I am so proud of my Mom for launching into this new venture.  She is such a great example to me.

There has been a lot of talk in the media lately about attachment parenting and parenting styles and breastfeeding.  Know what?  I have never read any books about any specific parenting style.  I just try to listen to my kids and when I have any questions, I just ask my Mom.  After all, parenting is not primarily a political statement, it’s a relationship.  And who better to ask about relationships than your Mom.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mommy.  Having my own kids helps me to appreciate you so much more! I love you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

