Most Beautiful Thing: A Little Indulgence

Guinness Milk Chocolate Ice Cream

This weekend we celebrated my Mom’s birthday.  (Really, this post should be about my Mother and how amazing she is, and beautiful too!  Some people find it hard to believe that she has three grandkids.  I’m just grateful that she is my Mom and that she is as generous as she is with her time! But this post is not about her, a very important Most Beautiful Thing in my life.  It is about a small, relatively unimportant, but nevertheless delightful, rare indulgence that made me happy.  Sorry, Mom).

We spent Saturday evening to late Monday afternoon at my parents’ house.  We were only supposed to go for one night, but John is cutting his molars and by 8:00 on Sunday evening it became very clear that taking the extra hour and a half or so to pack and be on our way, all while trying to jolly along a tired and cranky one year old, would not be an intelligent idea.  So we stayed the extra night.

After the kids were in bed, Darren used his time wisely by exercising.  I, on the other hand, decided to indulge myself a little bit.  I had chocolate ice cream with Cointreau.  YUM.  When I was a kid there was a local dairy called Milk Maid that used to make the most delicious ice cream – Swiss Chocolate Chip – which was chocolate ice cream with orange chocolate chips.  This tasted a lot like that, except a bit more grown up.

I was first introduced to this lovely treat by my Aunty Mary shortly after Darren and I were married.  We crashed my aunt and uncle’s house at the tail end of our honeymoon in order to save a bit of cash (as we were still poor students at the time) while we wandered around Victoria.  Yes, we are the history-nerdish type of people who slot a trip to the Royal British Columbia Museum into our honeymoon.

So on Sunday evening, there I was, eating this lovely concoction and watching episodes of “The Good Life” on YouTube.  And so, for your own viewing pleasure, here is Series 1, Episode 1 of “The Good Life” (which ran as “Good Neighbors‘ in the US) featuring Richard Briers, Felicity Kendall, Penelope Keith, and Paul Eddington.  The first episode is a bit stilted, but bear with them.  You will be rewarded.

(It appears that only parts of Episodes 1 and 2 are online, so to watch full episodes type in “Good Life Series 1 Episode 3” to YouTube and that should work.  Enjoy!)

Leave a Reply

