Summer Routine

Yesterday was the last day of school for Benno. My sweet baby boy finished Grade Two and will start his final year of primary come September. I know people always say that time flies when you have kids, and it really does.

The end of the school year means no morning drive to school, no making lunches, no afternoon pickup, hooray! Yet I know from experience that if we do away with routine altogether, we will be in serious trouble. And by we, I mean me.

 

So, here is a list of things routines that will not be abandoned this summer.

1. All kids must do the morning routine before eating breakfast. Our morning routine consists of getting up, going to the bathroom, brushing teeth, and getting dressed. I know that technically you are supposed to brush your teeth after breakfast, but in our household, if we don’t do it right away, it generally has a pretty low chance of being done at all.

2. Eat breakfast by 10:00. This will give the kids enough time to horse around in the morning, but have them eating before it becomes ridiculously late.

3. Everyone clears their dishes.

4. Downstairs living areas must be totally clean before heading up to bed.

5. If you are too loud, you will get kicked outside, regardless of the weather.

Okay, now here are the rules for me:

1. Get up and into the shower by 7:00 at the latest. If I don’t shower before the kids are up, our ability to do anything decreases by about 90%.

2. Pray every morning. I shouldn’t be surprised by this, but on days when I take the time to pray, things generally go much more smoothly.

3. Keep my temper. For help with this, see #2.

4. Work on kitchen cleanliness. This is a very big challenge for me as my “office” is also in the kitchen.  If I can get a good system for keeping the dishes from multiplying like rabbits on the countertop and keeping papers organized I will be a very, very happy camper.

5. Carve out some sort of quiet time for myself every day.  Even if it is 5 minutes to put on clear nail polish or look at a magazine without interruption.

6. The long shot: teach my kids to wait their turn while I am on the phone or speaking to another adult.  Or maybe just a full course in delayed gratification.  My kids are generally pretty well-behaved, but they do tend to think that the world will come to an end if I don’t pay attention to them RIGHT NOW!!!!!!!  Very provoking when I am trying to have an important conversation on the phone.  Perhaps this will require more attention to point#2…

Do you  have any non-negotiable summer routines?

One thought on “Summer Routine

Leave a Reply

