Most beautiful thing: Nancy Drew Pays Off

Okay, so technically this is not a particularly “beautiful” thing, but it is satisfying.

To say that I loved Nancy Drew during my elementary school years would be an understatement.  Just ask my Mom.  I think that I first encountered Nancy Drew when we went to visit some friends of my parents.  They had a good collection of ND’s (along with a super-cool built in single bed that reminded me a little bit of a sea bunk bed, if that makes sense).  Bored by the adult conversation, I went exploring and found Nancy Drews on the bookcase and I was lost.  I seem to recall borrowing a number of the books from them.  I may still have a few on my bookshelf.  If you are planning on lending me a book, you should probably make sure that you have your name and number written in the cover.  (Carol A. if you are reading this send me a message and I will mail the books back to you along with a thank you note and a little thank you gift.)

Having established my abysmal record with returning books, let’s move on to more serious matters.  I eventually made it through all the original series with the exception of one or two books that I couldn’t get my hands on. By that time the new CaseFiles was being published and I proceeded to devour those as well.  Then came the Nancy Drew AND Hardy Boys Super Mystery Series and oh my gosh I just googled them and there were thirty six published!!! I only read the first three, so maybe I have some catching up to do!  The chemistry between Nancy and Frank was particularly tantalizing, especially as it wasn’t clear whether Ned was in the picture.  Would Nancy stay true to Ned?  Frank seemed like a pretty nice guy, AND he was tall, dark, and handsome.  Much more to my taste. Anyhooo…..

So the upshot of reading so many mysteries (which also eventually included mostly everything ever written by Agatha Christie) was that I may have had an over-developed sense of sneakiness.  Or something.

When I was at Girl Guide camp for the summer it was discovered that someone was going into the tents, riffling through bags, and stealing candy.  This was a problem, and as one of the more senior girls, I was in on the meeting with the camp counsellors in which we discussed the situation and tried to think of a solution.  My idea was to set up a stash of candy – kind of like a bait car – talk about it with everyone, and then watch and wait for the perpetrator to come and raid the big stash that everyone was talking about.  One of the other girls listened to the plan, shook her head, and said to my Mom, “Too many Nancy Drews!”  I still think it would have worked.

Here’s the payoff.  On Sunday Darren and I helped to organize a Canada Day party at our parish, then we were due at his Mom’s house to celebrate her birthday.  Our Young Catholic Family Group had rented a HUGE bouncy castle for the event.  It had a knight and dragon on the front and reached the rafters of the gym roof and it was full of kids nonstop throughout the event.  After we deflated the thing, wrapped it up and moved it out, Darren noticed a sticky black smudge on the brand-new gym floor.  He tried to wipe it up, but it was really stuck on.  This was the first time our group had hosted an event and we did not want to be remembered as the people who ruined the floor of the new gym.

I went over to take a look.  There it was, a big long smudge right where the bouncy castle had been. It stretched all along the length of the castle…it stretched beyond the castle!  I followed the smudge almost half way across the gymnasium and I realized that the bouncy castle had not made the mess!  That meant that we did not have to spend an extra hour scraping up the black sticky stuff, we just needed to let the parish know and the janitor could take care of it, which meant that Darren and I actually got to his Mom’s birthday party on time!

So thank you Nancy Drew, for fine-tuning my sense of observation and for helping me to actually get somewhere on time, which may be the biggest miracle of all!

Leave a Reply

