Routining….Again..

So, the new school year is a week old and it already feels like we are in the thick of it!  Last year I blogged about taking the time to establish a new school routine, and then I promptly came down with appendicitis a few days later and any sense of order was completely out the door.  This year my sister Emily got married on Labour Day weekend (check out the sneek peek of her photos here and here!  And yes, that is Darren holding John upside down), so naturally there was nothing resembling routine until the Tuesday morning when everyone went back to work/school.

Much like my attempted summer routine of getting ready before the kids woke up (which was moderately successful, I might add), this year I am trying to wake up earlier so that any lateness can be legitimately blamed on my offspring rather than on me.  I am trying to move everything ahead about half an hour, which means I need to get up between 6:00 and 6:30, depending on the day and what time I got to bed.  I think I am averaging about 6 hours of sleep, which is not too bad for having 3 kids.  We are also trying to get the kids into bed earlier so that they are less grouchy.  This is particularly important for Cate, who grew a lot this summer and who subsequently could get impressively … petulant.

Added to the mix is the fact that this year I am taking care of my niece for 2-3 days a week.  She is 6 weeks older than John, so I am getting a taste of what life would be like with twins.  I have already taken them shopping a few times with Cate and I receive very nice sympathetic smiles.  So far I have managed to get her down for a nap every day (knock on wood), but some days it takes a little longer than others.  It is so interesting to see the difference between her and John.  She is WAY ahead of him in terms of verbal development, but he is much more “chatty/babbly.” It will be fun to watch them grow up together.

I’m hoping that the next few weeks will really solidify the kids’ routines.  But what I need to work on is figuring out how to integrate time for myself into family life.  It has come home to me over the last month or so (while I have not been posting regularly) that I enjoy writing and I need to do it regularly.  I also need to exercise regularly.  And I will be taking on some independent design work over the next few weeks, so I need to map out some time for that as well. And while we made great headway on re-organizing the garage, I still haven’t finished going through my papers.

So to sum up, there is still a heck of a lot to do, but at least the regular routines of everyday life are starting to emerge from the brushwood. But I do need to take care of myself, otherwise I will burn out like I did last year.  Did you know I got burned out last year?  I just discovered it myself this summer.  But that is a different tale for a different time…

Leave a Reply

